Last week I bought a watermelon, but only was able to eat a small amount before it got over-ripe and started getting soft and mushy.  So I saved it in the refrigerator, and today Bryan, Talan, and I made watermelon sorbet with it!

Here’s the recipe I used:

Watermelon
Sorbet

1¼ cup sugar
1¼ water
6-7 cups fresh seedless watermelon chunks
3 tbsp. fresh lime juice (approximately 3 medium-sized limes)

Directions

In a medium saucepan, bring the sugar and water to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer until the sugar is completely dissolved (do not stir). Place in a bowl to completely cool.

Put the watermelon chunks and the lime juice into a blender or food processor. Process until the watermelon is completely pureed.  Combine with the cooled sugar syrup.

Pour the watermelon mixture into the freezer bowl of your ice cream maker.  Mix until the sorbet has thickened, approximately 25-35 minutes. The sorbet will have soft serve texture. You can enjoy right away or put the sorbet into an airtight container and place in the freezer until firm for about 2 hours.

Enjoy!

I didn’t think to take pictures of the process.  But I did take some photos of the final product and the enjoyment of said final product!

We all worked together.  I made the simple syrup while Bryan cut up the watermelon, and Talan de-seeded the watermelon chunks.  Then Talan and I squeezed 3 limes (which we just happened to have leftoever in our fridge which was lucky!), and pureed it all up in the blender, then poured it into the icecream maker, and then put it all in the freezer to harden.  Pretty simple!

I think that cleaning up the kitchen afterwards was actually more difficult and time-consuming that making that actual sorbet.

