Have you heard of this documentary?  Forks over Knives.  Bryan and I watched it last night, and let me tell you, it was powerful.  The movie basically addresses the health epidemic in our country – the fact that so many people are obese and suffering from diabetes, high cholesterol, high blood pressure, and heart disease.  Their proposed solution is eliminating animal products from the diet and eating a plant-based whole-foods diet instead.  They have a TON of research and evidence to back up this claim.  If you’re interested, I recommend checking out the movie.

Bryan didn’t really enjoy the movie very much because he LOVES eating meat.  And ice cream.  And cheese.  And potato chips.  And cookies.  So when we finished watching the movie, he wasn’t looking forward to the conversation he knew we were about to have.  And I knew that.

But here’s the thing: we eat a diet that’s pretty heavy in animal products, processed foods, and white flour and sugar.  Those are all the things that are supposedly killing Americans left and right.  Watching this movie just really made sense to me.  I realize that there’s always some new scientific study that proves that this type of diet or food is good or bad, and it’s always contradictory.

But this diet makes SENSE to me.  Plant based, whole foods, whole grains… how can you go wrong?  Especially when so many people in the movie talk about how they drastically lowered their cholesterol, drastically lowered their blood pressure, lost a lot of weight, reversed their diabetes, cured their cancer, and had more energy by going on this plant-based whole-foods diet.  Plus the fact that I know of individuals who have in fact done this themselves.  Melissa has a friend who cured her cancer by going on a diet like this.

So, Bryan has high cholesterol and high blood pressure, and he has for quite a while now.  He runs almost daily, and looks very healthy and fit.  So obviously it’s not due to a lack of exercise.  It’s obviously his diet that is the problem, and he knows this.  And he does want to eat healthier and not have to take pills for blood pressure or cholesterol.  Which is why he has agreed, reluctantly, to give this diet a try.  At least partially.  He won’t completely give up meat because he LOVES it.  I think that’s ok as long as we try to make our diet primarily super-healthy, I think a little meat and cheese here and there should be ok.

I also discovered about a year ago that I have high cholesterol.  That was shocking to me.  I haven’t had it checked again since then, probably because I’m in denial.  But the fact is, something has to be done because Bryan and I do not want to end up typical Americans – overweight, diabetic, on Lipitor and 10 other meds, and a heart-attack wating to happen.  That’s not how we want to live our lives.  That’s scary.

So I just ordered 4 books from amazon:

So we’re going to give this a shot… I’m nervous, and I think it’s going to be really hard because it’s a kind of cooking I’ve never done before (I probably won’t even know what half of the ingredients are much less where to find them in the store), but we have to do something.  This movie inspired me.

