This past Sunday evening Bryan and I went to a special concert together.  We went to see Colbie Caillat at the Carolina Theater in Durham – which is special because that’s where we met each other!  We used two of Colbie’s songs during our wedding – Lucky was sung during our ceremony by one of Bryan’s friends:

And once our ceremony was finished, we walked back down the aisle together to I Do:

Plus we used Brighter Than The Sun for our Honeymoon video:

She sang that one as the last song at her concert!

Did I mention that Bryan got our tickets off of craigslist the day before, and that we had front row seats?!

Yep, front row.  So we got up close and personal with Hinder (neither of us are fans, but it was interesting seeing them up close and personal anyway):

And Hinder’s funky starry jeans:

and G105 Bob and the Showgram people who were hosting the concert:

Immediately after lifting his shirt up like that he looked down at me and said, “Oh you want to take a picture of that?”  haha

And…

Colbie!

She sang just for us… we forgot about all the hundreds (thousands?) of other people in the sold-out theater and balconies, and it felt like she was singing just to us… and she looked at us multiple times.  Bryan thinks she was looking right at him but I thought she was looking at me.  🙂

Here’s a video I took (see?  Doesn’t it look like she’s looking RIGHT at me and singing to me at several points during the song?):

So that was very cool.

Now onto the other part of this post as mentioned in the title: menorahs.

I was subbing in a class last week when we were talking about menorahs and Hanukkah and I got this overwhelming urge to celebrate Hanukkah.

I don’t want to go all out and start reading the Jewish prayers or converting to Judaism or anything.  I just want to have a menorah and light the candles on the 8 nights of Hanukkah.

Bryan thinks I’m crazy but he’s supportive.

Here’s my logic:

I don’t consider myself tied to any one religion.  I consider myself spiritual, and religious, but nondenominational and open-minded.  And I also feel discouraged by how commercialized Christmas is and how we really only pause to be spiritual or contemplative on Christmas Eve at church, and other than that it just feels like it’s all about hustle, bustle, shopping, Santa Claus, eating cookies, going to parties, opening presents, and more eating.

I remember when I was a kid going over to my friend Jenna’s house one night, and her family celebrated both Hanukkah and Christmas, and that particular night was one of the nights of Hanukkah, so they invited me to celebrate with them.  They lit the candles and the kids got presents and they read the special prayers.

But the thing I like about it is that it lasts 8 nights, and it’s simple, but it gives you a dedicated time each evening (supposed to be right after sundown I believe) when you take time to sit together as a family and light candles – adding an additional one each night, until on the final 8th night all of the candles are lit.  And I just like the idea of having a little bit of time set aside every evening to contemplate being thankful and quiet and really appreciating the holiday season for what it’s supposed to be.

So that is why I bought a menorah and candles from Target yesterday.  I think they fit right in with the Christmas stuff…

As I was walking up to the display, there was a mother with 2 young boys, around 7 or 8 years old probably, and they were looking at the display as well.  The boys were saying that they liked the menorahs and wanted to get one.  The mom said no, and the boy said, why not?  The mom said, “No, we can’t get one, we’re not Jewish, what would we do with it?”  And I thought to myself, “well, I’m not Jewish either, but what the heck, why not?!”  haha 🙂

Am I crazy weird?  Oh well.

***Update: After discussing the menorah idea and religion stuff in general with Bryan in depth over a delicious meal at PF Chang’s last week, I decided that having the menorah was actually unnecessary and perhaps inappropriate and did in fact clash with our beliefs.  So… I returned the menorah and candles to Target last week.  Oh well, it was a fun idea while it lasted, but I’ll just stick with Christmas now. 🙂  Of course if we ever had anyone in our house who actually did celebrate Hannukah, I’d be totally happy to have a menorah for them!

