We have been SO BUSY these last 3 months, moving in and getting our house settled.  I really want to share some of the things we’ve done, even though some of these things were done a long time ago.

One of the very first things we did when we moved in was cover up the side light windows on either side of our front door.

I don’t know how the previous owners lived like this for years!  It freaked me out that people could just walk up to our front door and see straight into our house and into our living room.  I prefer more privacy than that!

Of course I guess it was nice to be able to see out, so now I’d like to have a peephole installed so I can see out the door and be able to tell who’s out there.

You couldn’t necessarily see straight into our house during the day from a distance.

But up close, you could peer in and see a lot!  And at night I’m sure it was really easy to see right into our house when we had lights on.

So we got this faux-glass stick on stuff from Lowes, and I am really happy with the results!

It doesn’t look all that different from a distance.

But it makes a big difference in privacy, and I think it looks pretty, too.

Maybe it’s just me, but I don’t think anyone would look at it and think it looks cheap or fake or anything.


From the outside, during the day, and from a distance, it doesn’t look much different at all.

But up close it makes a big difference!  Now even if you put your nose right up to the windows, you can’t see any details inside our house.

And at night it’s a big improvement as well.  You can still see through the window above the door, so I guess if we were upstairs on the landing, someone could see us, but that’s not that big of a deal to me.

I’m just glad that when we’re sitting on the couch watching a movie or something at night, people can’t just stare right in at us!

Moving on.  Bryan always says that he feels like a house doesn’t feel like a home until you have pictures hanging on the walls, so, we hung pictures!

We have this little gallery in the hallway between the dining room, living room, and kitchen.

I think it’s kind of nice the way the frames help the thermostat to kind of blend into the wall more.

And I really like our wedding themed gallery that we hung up in the corner of our kitchen.

I should have taken a shot from the distance, but I didn’t.  This is the corner to the left of our fireplace.

It adds a nice interesting element to that corner of the room!

Bryan also added some frames to the bonus room upstairs.  He got prints of some pictures that he took back in college, which he still had the negatives for, and we blew them up and framed them.

The images are nice because they’re not family pictures, but they’re still personal since Bryan took them.

While we’re up in the bonus room, I’ll show you the 3 sets of shelves we put in there.  We got these from Target for about $30 each.


We tried looking on craigslist for bookcases, but ultimately it was cheaper to get these and put them together ourselves!  Plus this way they all match.

They store a lot of stuff, which was what we needed them to do!

It’s great how everything is really coming together up there.

We also got this couch off of craigslist, which was a GREAT deal.

We got it for $100, and it’s a queen size sleeper sofa, virtually brand new.  The people we bought it from said they’d only used it once.  It’s much more comfortable than a regular sleeper sofa because it has an inflatable air mattress that you inflate once you fold the mattress out, so you don’t feel all the springs and bars like you usually do in sleeper sofa beds.

Plus, when we were at their house picking it up they told us they were trying to get rid of other things as well, so they gave us a bunch of other stuff for free!  They gave us a mirror, which we have hanging in the foyer, a garden hose, a beach umbrella, a snow shovel, a rake, and some other things as well that I can’t think of.  Pretty great!

And finally, our sun room, which I use as my office!

We got the short shelves in the back left corner from Target ($20), and the sofa is originally from World Market for $400, but we got it off craigslist for $150.  Good deal!  And the ends fold down so it makes into a flat surface that someone could sleep on – a bit narrower than a twin size bed, but still useful if necessary.

I really wanted a rug to go in the sun room to make it more comfortable and feel more like a room, but had a hard time finding one.  I’d looked at Ikea, Target, WalMart, Kohls, and HomeGoods as well as online at every store I could think of, but for a rug this size (we needed around 8×10), they were all just way too expensive.

Finally this weekend Bryan and I went to Home Depot (where we didn’t find anything under $200, and didn’t really love anything), and then we went to Lowes.  We both saw this rug, and both of us immediately liked it.  It was the right size, and had a good neutral color scheme.  And it was on clearance, marked down from $200 to $89!  We were sold!

We found a store employee and told her we wanted it, so she went to find the guy who could pack it up for us.  The rug was not wrapped in plastic, like all the rest were, and so there was no tag on it.  I wanted to be sure it was the clearance price, so I said, “Since there’s no plastic on the rug” – and before I could finish my statement, which was going to be, “I just want to make sure that it is the $89 that the price below it says.”  The guy cut me off, and said, “Oh, yeah, sure, I’ll mark it down.  I just want to get rid of it.”  !!!!!!  So, he said, “How about $60?”  I was like, “Oh!  Yes!  That is fine!”  Haha, so we got the rug for $60!  That was super exciting!

Alright, that’s all my updates for now.

