Well, this past weekend was Labor Day weekend, and I had high hopes that Madison would have an ironic sense of humor and would choose to initiate labor in conjunction with Labor Day.  Unfortunately, that did not happen.  Apparently she’s just still too comfortable hanging out inside of me.

Last Friday marked 38 weeks (AKA 9 months plus 2 weeks).  And the baby (and my stomach) just keep getting bigger.

I find that I spend a lot of time now laying on the couch on my side because it’s the most comfortable position to get relief from the burden of all the weight of my stomach on my skin, muscles, back, etc.

Some times I feel better than other times.  Almost every day now I feel sick to my stomach for at least part of the day.  This is not really different than my entire pregnancy though… the nauseous feeling has become very familiar to me over these past nine months.  It will probably be strange to be able to get up in the morning, eat breakfast, and then not feel sick to my stomach for the next hour or so.

Sleeping has also become much more of an ordeal lately.  My pelvis/hip joints are apparently loosening up in preparation for labor.  I think I read that the cartilage actually starts softening so that your joints are more flexible.  Anyway, for whatever reason now my hips get really sore from laying on my side in bed when I sleep.  So approximately every hour on the hour I wake up because the hip that I’m laying on hurts so much, and I get up, go to the bathroom, come back, and lay down on the opposite side for the next hour before that side starts hurting a lot… plus I still sometimes get restless leg syndrome when I’m trying to fall asleep at night (something I had never experienced before pregnancy, but is apparently just another common pregnancy symptom), which makes it really difficult to fall asleep.

Other than that though I’m still doing really well, and have probably had a relatively easy pregnancy compared to other people.

I’m just so ready for Madison to be born!  I think I’ve gotten to the point where I don’t see what the point of waiting any longer is.  She’s big enough.  My stomach is big enough.  Our house is ready.  Her nursery is ready.  Everyone is ready.  So… what are we waiting for?!  Come on out Madison!

Sunday night we made an eggplant parmesan recipe that claims to produce labor within 48 hours.  It was delicious, and we ate it again as leftovers for dinner last night.  And we’re going to have the last of it for dinner again tonight.  But… so far it does not seem to be producing any results 🙂

