Our front patio is on my mind a lot.  It needs a lot of work.

IMG_2702

Since we moved in over a year ago, we have done two things:

  1. We plunked down our Christmas-colors-themed door mat that we had been using at the town house
  2. We got a black wooden glider bench as a Christmas present from my mom (I asked for it, and like it a lot!)

That’s it.  Clearly it needs more love.

Here are my ideas.  I would like to add two square white planters on either side of the front door with some sort of lovely plants in them.  Here’s one I found on amazon for $21.99:

planter

I’d also like to put down an outdoor rug over on the left side where the glider is.  Maybe something like this to coordinate with the grey siding and stones but also bring in a little color.  It’s on overstock.com for $59.49:

rug

I’d also like to change out the ugly overhead porch light that is currently in front of our door.  It’s just a plain little white boring thing that adds no personality or charm to the porch at all.

IMG_2704

I’m thinking something more like this might be nicer.

light

We bought a few hanging hooks from the store a while ago, and some day we’ll install those so that we can hang some flowers or ferns or something along the edge of the patio ceiling.  Something like this:

hanging-baskets-b

I’d also like to put some kind of art or something on the back wall above where the glider is.  I saw this sign, and thought it might be fun to make something like this:

IMG_2698

I also want to get some sort of tables so that there’s some place to put things like decor, flowers, drinks, etc.  I saw this square coffee table on craigslist for $20 (and another one similar to it for $10), and I’m thinking I could paint it some cute color, maybe a pale blue to go with the rug.  I would put the coffee table in front of the glider.

table

It’s actually a pretty long space to the left of our front door.  I don’t think you can tell in the pictures, but the glider is currently about 2 feet out from the back wall, so once it’s scooted farther back, there would be plenty of room for a table in front of it as well as a 4 x 6 rug under the whole thing.

IMG_2702

I’d also like to get a new doormat.  Something to match the new decorations, so I did a quick search, and found this one on overstock.com, and thought it was pretty cute.  Plus it has the blue that might go nicely with the other rug and table if I went that route.

door mat

So those are the ideas I’m tossing around in my head right now.  Who knows when we’ll get around to doing any of these, but I’m looking forward to it 🙂

Any other ideas to add character and charm to our front porch?  Please share 🙂

